Stream Status

FULL FGC STREAM LIST

RECENT VIDEOS
MEMBER ACCESS
Monday
May282012

« 2nd TOPANGA Online Tournament Featuring Larger Player Count To Fight Against The Best »

The TOPANGA group announced a new online tournament for Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition Ver. 2012 but instead of folks like Daigo, Sako and Haitani playing, it's going to feature more yet less notable players in Japan's scene climbing to fight the greats.

All of the players in the tournament represent a "B league" (first tournament featured A league). 56 of those will fight each other in hope to qualify for the A league. The top two players of the B league will replace Kindevu and RF of A league and later attempt to eliminate Tokido and Bonchan on July 1st.

Thanks to USD at Shoryuken, the details of when the qualifiers occur are featured after the jump!

June 8 (Fri),  June 9 (Sat), June 10 (Sun)
June 15 (Fri), June 16 (Sat), June 17 (Sun)
June 22 (Fri), June 23 (Sat), June 24 (Sun)
June 29 (Fri), July 1 (Sun)

Beginning at 9PM JST UTC +9 (8AM EDT, 5AM PDT) on Fridays and Saturdays and 8PM JST (7AM EDT, 4AM PDT) on Sundays.

The details for the B League qualifying tournament, from which two players will advance, are below. The stream for this qualifier begins on June 2 at 6PM JST (5AM EDT, 2AM PDT) and is free to watch and can be viewed at the below address. The actual TOPANGA League B however is pay-per-view, the price yet to be announced.

http://live.nicovideo.jp/watch/lv94783086

Qualifier First Round (56 players → 8 players)

The players are broken into 8 blocks of 7 and play a tournament within the AE 2012 Tournament Mode (1 slot reserved for tournament staff, giving one random player a first round bye). The winner of each block proceeds to the second round.

Qualifier Second Round (8 players→ 4 players)

The block representatives face off against each other, with match-ups determined by lottery. The match is a best 2 out of 3 games set, and the winner of each match proceeds to the final round.

Qualifier Final Round (4 players → 2 players)

The remaining 4 players compete in a round-robin league, with the two players with the most total wins advancing. In the case of a tie, the winner will determined by total game win-loss count. If there still is a tie, the players will engage in a playoff match, with the winner advancing.

References (2)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.
Member Account Required
You must have a member account on this website in order to post comments. Log in to your account to enable posting.